My Experience as a Volunteer in India

61

The first time I started volunteering in India, my foreign enunciation regularly prompted my colleagues to question why I had left Italy. They did not comprehend that I was putting in effort to help people who really need help and recognize health care from a difficult position. As much as my cultural rebuffs from diverse communities were painful, they taught me to embrace people as distinctive, whole entities despite their different languages and backgrounds, and not to judge them by external stereotypes.

Since this perspective brought me many productive relationships, I will continue to do the same with my patients. My effort to Volunteer in India and belong to the community taught me to work well with various groups of people by listening carefully to what others say as well as adjusting my thoughts without sacrificing my values. I developed a personal sense of belonging, which consisted of more than my race. The all-embracing time I have spent in different communities, and my experiences as a foreigner give me an exceptional cultural literacy that will add to the growth of culturally competent pharmacy fraternity at the University.

I worked and shadowed for health practitioners, I found communicating with patients amazing especially after learning how to get the trust of the patients and help them to be comfortable but it is difficult to deal with blood or body fluid. However, when I worked to pharmacist, I started making the loving stuff such as communicating with patients and serving them without dealing with too much blood or body fluids. I am passionate about playing violin, because it helps me and other listeners to relax and feel more comfortable. To learn more about volunteering, visit http://www.ehow.com/how_5061658_meaningful-volunteer-opportunities.html.

I often connect my violin playing with other activities, like playing for my science study group friends during breaks. when I proposed and oversaw Gap Year India program of diabetic club in Mumbai, I did statistics on Gap year programs in India on the diabetic patients started to call them and invited them to the club so they can talk about the best practice such as sport, cooking health food to reduce the diabetic and in same time I played a violin.

I learned how to communicate kindness and helping the patients; I developed a strong knowledge of teamwork and listened to opinions by others building on them in the process. I am part of the team of volunteers that continues to provide emergency kits full of cotton blankets, plastic sheets, undergarments, personal effects including soaps, and solar-powered lights.

I was more aware of my patients’ inner emotional states and responded more sensitively to patient pain and discomfort, listening carefully for patients’ concerns. What put me above others in terms of offering services are intelligence, self-motivation, and personal skills across the globe.

Leave a Reply

